All General meetings are at 8pm in the West Malling C.E. Primary School, Norman Road, West Malling unless otherwise stated.

TALKS ARE AVAILABLE TO BOTH MEMBERS £3.00 AND NON-MEMBERS AT £3.50 PER PERSON PAYABLE ON ENTRY



2020

Sunday 2nd February The New Year’s Lunch at “The Duke of Wellington” Birling Road, Ryarsh ME19 5LS. 12.30pm for 1pm.

 

 

 

 


Wednesday 11th March “West Malling in Postcards”.

An illustrated talk by Keith Bullard from WWI, some rare and never seen before, and their historical stories.

 

 

 


Wednesday 15th April “Time Watch: The West Malling X Files – UFO” 1 hour documentary featuring the former RAF West Malling.

 

 

 

 

 


Wednesday 13th May “The Story behind Your Cuppa”.

An illustrated talk by Alan Payne giving the inside story behind our favourite national drink – tea.

 

 


Wednesday 17th June “The history of RAF West Malling and the 618 Volunteer Gliding Squadron, RAF West Malling”

Fully illustrated by historians Peter Hall and Philip Wickwar.

 

 


Wednesday 16th September “Don’t Laugh – Gravesend”.

An illustrated exploration of this hidden gem on our doorstep – a favorite of Victorian holiday makers with so many stories to tell by Alan Payne.

 

 

 


Wednesday 14th October.

Kent Fire Fighting Museum”. An illustrated talk by Howard Myers.

 

 

 

 


The Twitch Heritage Centre, Douce’s Manor, St. Leonard’s Street, will be open from Noon to 4pm (last admission 3.30pm)

OPENING TIMES for 2020

Sunday 26th April, Sunday 24th May, Sunday 28th June, Sunday 26th July, Saturday/Sunday 19th – 20th September (Heritage Open Days) and Sunday 8th November (Remembrance Sunday).

 

Visitors, please note!  Douce’s Manor is a private residence; the house and grounds are NOT open to the publicParking on St. Leonard’s Street.

 

Please note opening hours and help the volunteers by vacating the centre by 4pm otherwise terms of our lease maybe compromised.Visitors, please note! Douce’s Manor is a private residence; the house and grounds are NOT open to the public. Parking is on St. Leonard’s Street or in the town.For further details on joining the Society, please contact Barbara Earl or visit our website page: here